And I don’t want to leave the apartment, ever.

The calm before the storm…a winter storm is a comin’ to Chicago! So here’s the deal: I’m a-OK with snow before Christmas. It’s festive, it’s fun, and there’s is absolutely nothing like waking up after a snowfall and seeing the tree branches glisten with freshly fallen snow. But after Christmas, snow is not welcome. Moral of my short-little story: I guess I will embrace this devil of a storm (or so the weathermen say…) for the time-being. With no classes this upcoming week and the prediction of some frigid temps(!), I am having such a hard time leaving the apartment. I just want to stay all cozied up in my leggings and slipper-boots (and be thankful that all the people walking past bundled up in furry hoods and boots aren’t me!).

Though the snow hadn’t started yet, I decided it was the perfect day to have a nice, warm bowl of oatmeal. Perhaps it had some chocolate chips mixed in (I think I added too many 🙂 whoops!), 1/2 ‘naner, and some chopped walnuts. Heaven in a bowl, I tell ya! See the red-and-green potholder on the bottom? Thank you, mother, for always encouraging me to put something underneath scalding-hot bowls. And, of course I wanted to get a little festive! (The Pandora Christmas station that I created based off of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas” song may have been playing in the background…)

The rest of my night? I am POOPED! Nearing the end of the semester, I am feeling unmotivated and in need of a little….Lifetime movie 🙂 Usually I’m not a fan, and I have to admit, this one was a little cheesy, but hey, isn’t that what you sign up for when you willingly watch a Lifetime movie? A perfect, quiet little night. But tomorrow I need to get out of this apartment. There are too many distractions (note to self: NEVER study in your bed when you are tired). Library, here I come!

Where is your favorite place to study? If you’re out of school, where’s your “go-to” spot to get work done?

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And I don’t want to leave the apartment, ever.

  1. Layne says:

    The center cushion on my couch. Right nearby all of my favorite distractions – phone, computer, TV, and kitchen ;o)

Leave a Reply

