Tofu. (You scared?)

Today I tried tofu for the first time…EVER. I don’t plan to become a vegetarian, but I had purchased an Amy’s Teriyaki Bowl and decided to have it for lunch before my history final because a.) I was too nervous to do anything but “microwave” and b.) because I knew I was going to have french toast for dinner and didn’t want bread as the “main course” for two of my meals.

Amy's Teriyaki bowlHere it is, in all its glory. Though I was surprised by how much I liked the tofu (it was marinated and tasted a lot like chicken), I’m not sure I would purchase this particular Amy’s meal again. I much preferred the Santa Fe Enchilada bowl I had a few weeks ago. Now that was good. (The pesto tortellini is also delish: Hannah, I think you would really love this! So creamy and cheesy…and it tastes super indulgent (but it’s good for you: no additive, no preservatives, all organic ingredients))

Mmm…see those delicious-looking chunks of broccoli? You could even call them “Christmas trees” this time of year πŸ™‚

Why hello, tofu. Nice to meet you.

I had to have something satisfying and sweet to end my meal, obvi. So I filled a small cupcake liner with trail mix (peanuts, almonds, dried cranberries, raisins, m&m’s, and honey teddy grahams (remember those?!).

Final being completed (I’m surprised my hand didn’t fall off in the process, but I absolutely know way more than I’ll ever need to know about Andrew Jackson and the aims of the Civil War…), I decided to brave the elements and head downtown to get some Christmas shopping done. I won’t say where I went (because that’ll give it away!), but it was soooo much less crowded than when my sister, mom, and I went shopping a couple of weekends ago. I think that’s partly because it was a Monday, and partly because it was absolutely frigid out there! (There were moments that literally took my breath away. And not in a good way.)

Loveee calling this place “home!”

How festive! Doesn’t this just get you in the holiday mood?

After thawing myself off back at home, my sister and I had a skype dinner date. It was so much fun! (I definitely recommend this: it almost feels like you’re actually eating dinner together :)) Along with my french toast, I had my first full glass of soymilk (don’t worry, I poured much more into the cup after this “initial” taste-test hehe). It’s not too flavorful on its own, but I didn’t have to force myself to drink it, either. I can’t wait to try the flavors – this one’s just the “light” original. Yum yum. Here’s the nutrition label:

It’s a little blurry, but it’s chock-full of some great stuff. Don’t get me wrong, though, regular ol’ cow’s milk is awesome, too! This is just an alternative, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with other milk πŸ™‚ As long as you’re getting that calcium in, hey-0! (Note to self: I need to be making sure I’m getting enough calcium in!)

Have a wonderful evening, and stay warm!

Have you tried tofu? If so, what did you think? If not, would you consider trying it?

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in And then I tried.... Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tofu. (You scared?)

  1. Hannah says:

    No!!!! Yuck tofu just sounds gross, the name and everything! And I heard the texture is very unique. I think I’ll stick to being a meat eater, but props to you Anna for trying it. And I’ll definitely be trying out that pasta bowl, sounds like my kinda meal πŸ™‚

  2. Steph says:

    I tried Tofu once. Not a good experience. I actually felt like I was eating cardboard 😦 but other people like it over chicken so maybe it’s just my weird taste in food. haha

  3. Julie says:

    My vegetarian friend at work really likes tofu, but I am a little scared to try it…I may need you to hold my hand! As for the pesto tortellini comment, I have had something similar from Trader Joe’s and it was delicious, but I like making my own pesto better, too bad my basil plant croaked!

  4. Julie says:

    P.S. the trail mix looks yummy! That’s smart of you to put it in a cupcake liner, I always end up OD-ing on that stuff. Ha.

  5. MareMare says:

    Bring it on home, AC — taste-testing tofu will be an adventure for the whole fam — can’t wait to see how much Andrew enjoys it!!!

  6. Pingback: 1 Mo’ Final to Go! | ciaotochow

Leave a Reply

