Mah Birthday Celebration!

So…it’s not my birthday until the end of the month, but since we’ll all be on Christmas break, my lovely friends decided to plan a little surprise night for me while we’re all still together. We had originally planned to do a carriage ride downtown and then grab dessert on the top of the Hancock building (check out those desserts!), but the Chicago weather was much too brutal for us. After locking myself in the library for over 6 hours studying these bad boys (aka, my nutrition – eek!)…

…I returned to my apartment at 8 (I wasn’t allowed a minute earlier!) to find my friends Lisa, Kelly, and Nancy waiting for me with none other than Domino’s Pizza, Cheesy Bread, and gifts.

Could these girls be any sweeter? Hardly… ๐Ÿ™‚

Just look at those yummy slices of heaven (Of course I wouldn’t eat this ever day, but c’mon, THIS was a celebration of my birth! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Of course we had to whip out my high-class, luxurious multi-colored plastic plates from Targetttt. I need to invest in some more fun, decorative plates (but these’ll do for now!)

And for dessert?

They stopped at the Hershey’s Store to pick up some GOURMET cupcakes. yum yum in my tum.

Now I’m not usually a fan of chocolate cake/cookies/ice cream, but these chocolate cupcakes were divine. Just the right amount of moistness, and the mint-flavored frosting on the top (I had part of the green, mint cupcake) may have thrown me into a sugar-rush (but in a good way :))

I opened my gifts (thanks, girls!) and am soooo looking forward to drinking warm tea out of my new “A” mug from Anthropologie, coffee from the apple-green traveling thermos, and diving intoย The Company They Kept: Writers on Unforgettable Friendships. I mean, do these girls know me or what?!

On to more birthday celebrations and more fun!! (Oh wait, I have 3 more finals…?)

And I ask you: A convo with my sis the other day sparks the idea for this question…Do you prefer pizza cut into triangles, or into squares? Or some other way? Preferences, please!

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mah Birthday Celebration!

  1. Xmas Earrings says:

    Your friends look like they love you, I wish I had friends that sweet! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now, answering your question, a real pizza is cut into triangles, and that’s the way I prefer it. How else can they sell pizza by the slice? —> This probably being the reason I prefer it. I’m still looking for that pizza shop selling pizza by the slice (Guess I’ll just have to visit NY sooner than later).

    Great Post!

    • ciaotochow says:

      I totally agree – the squares just don’t do it for me. And let’s find pizza “by the slice” when I return, m’kay? It will be an epic adventure! (I’ll bring my thermos! hehe)

Leave a Reply

