Let’s hear it for Italian food…

In just 26 days I will be on my way to spending an entire semester in Rome, Italy. While my egg-and-ham (with some hummus to spice it up a bit!) on cinnamon-raisin bagels has been thoroughly satisfying during this hectic and nerve-wracking finals week (thank goodness that nutrition exam is FINALLY ova!), you can’t blame a girl for being excited about the ten notches above exceptional cuisine that Italy has to offer, can you?

I have been to Italy once before – for a 2-week family vacation to Florence, Venice, and Rome (and a 4-day stop in Paris to wrap it all up). We went with our VB’s (“vacation buddies”; 2 other families), naturally.

And while we were there…we had a lot of fun:

Doing as the gladiators would do…(?)

Paying tribute to the Pope…

Showing our enthusiasm for some of the world’s finest art…

And finding out WHAT exactly is the use of a bidet…

Now that’s all important stuff (I mean, you can’t go gallivanting through Europe without knowing what a bidet is), but there is some of the greatest cuisine on Earth in this boot-shaped country…for which I am VERY excited to be reunited with ๐Ÿ™‚

Perfect, wood-fired pizzas with generous sprinklings of fresh herbs and Italian cheeses…

Pasta bathed in a creamy Vodka sauce (with some green peas!)…

Fresh produce in abundance along cobblestone side-streets…

And the desserts…oh my, the desserts (my dad and I have a mission of finding THE BEST tiramisu in all of Italy when he comes to visit! Any recommendations?)

Creamy, decadent gelato in a limitless amount of flavors…

And…

Eww, gross! How’d that get in here? (As of now, I’m NOT a huge fan of anything that comes from the water (shoutout to Liza!)…we’ll see if that changes)

Oh – and how could I forget (to forget would be blasphemy)…

NUTELLA!!! If you have not tried this “crack in a jar,” please go to your nearest grocery store and pick some up. There are many ways to indulge: spread some on banana slices, make nutella & banana crepes, put a dollop on your oatmeal, make a nutella/peanut butter sandwich (sinfully delicious), or simply stick your finger into the jar and then proceed to put it in your mouth ๐Ÿ™‚

The upcoming semester will surely be something my heart, mind (& stomach) will not forget.

Do you loveeeee Nutella? Can you (like me) not stand stuff that comes from the water? Let’s hear it!

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Chow.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s hear it for Italian food…

  1. MareMare says:

    That frozen bunker shot is hysterical! My prediction — you are soooooooo going to fall for the specialties from the sea!! Bon jour!! xxxooo

  2. Faith says:

    Oh wow, I just found your blog and I’m incredibly excited to read about your adventures in Italy. My family is Italian and while I’ve never been I’m dying to – I keep asking them to send me so I can eat my way across the country ๐Ÿ˜‰ One of these days they’ll give in (I Hope!), but for now I can’t wait to do it vicariously through you!

  3. Pingback: Pompeii, Groceries, and an Italian-flavored Recap | ciaotochow

Leave a Reply

