Quick, light lunch

Positive: My pb oats kept me “full & focused” (Frosted Mini-Wheats commercial, anyone?) allll morning: through church, through putzing around the apartment (seems to be a trend lately haha), anddddd through my 5+ mile workout at the gym.

Negative: I wasn’t super hungry for lunch, even at 2:00 pm!

That being said, I had a nice and healthy (and quick!) “lunch” that was refreshing & light (though I snacked throughout the afternoon…when my post-workout hunger finally caught up with me).

After feeling like I somewhat indulged this past weekend (take-out pizza (with sausage, pepperoni, mushrooms, and onion), fries, an insane German chocolate cake), I wanted something that would make me feel like I was getting back to that good ‘ol healthy eating. Plus, I know this upcoming week will be filled with rich desserts: I can almost taste my aunt’s sprinkle-covered mint cookies (I’ll try to post the recipe soon for you all!) and the traditional Christmas morning doughnuts 🙂

I was actually quite proud of myself for scrounging up the “ingredients” to whip together this lunch. If you can even call cream cheese, cucumbers, & a slice of bread ingredients. Ha!

A slice of whole-wheat 12-grain bread (the only way to go, I tell ya!)…toasted, then smeared with a thin layer of cream cheese and slices of halved cucumber.

Not sure this really constitutes me preparing a “meal,” but I just had to share this combo of flavors because it was so surprisingly tasty. The tangy and smooth cream cheese paired wonderfully with the sweet, crisp cucumber slices. Enjoyed along with baby carrots & hummus…

Parfffeection (Perfection 🙂 )

Did I mention I’m so glad I only have one more meal to scrounge up for in my food-deprived apartment? I promise, Promise, PROMISE good eats will be featured soon. Still can’t believe I won’t be returning to campus until next fall! Bittersweet, but I know some crazy awesome adventures await (and don’t you worry…you ALL will be along for the ride!)

And I ask you: Do you have a meal that you whip up when the cupboards are bone-dry and the fridge is practically empty? Share it!

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Chow.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick, light lunch

  1. Hannah says:

    PB&J!! I always seem to have some good ol’ pb on hand, even if I’m missing the jelly (which is usually not often.) And the cupboards are always too stocked up with soups, so I try to kick them up a notch with other spices or cheeses that I can scrounge up… or I just starve 🙂

  2. Meg says:

    I love the full & focused approach 😉 minus the Mini-Wheats of course haha. Oats are legit. I can’t wait for the upcoming adventures 😀 Enjoy your last meals at your apartment!

    Love,
    meg

Leave a Reply

