(Hot) potato (Hot) potato…

Alright, ladies & gents! (“Gents” sounds so much cooler than gentlemen, no?) Please take a seat…because I have successfully managed to make delisshhhhhious potato wedges ๐Ÿ™‚ Mama, papa, Andrew, and me likey (sooo reminds me of Michael Scott on The Office: “Mikeeeyyyy Likeeeyyy” (please tell me some of you out there get this reference?))

But before we get to the good stuff, let me tell you about something really strange that happened to me today: I had motivation. Sure, when I needed it to study for exams and be productive during the last week(s) of school, it was nowhere to be find. I come home, and suddenly I can’t get cleaning off my mind? I mean, really?

So what did I do? I took this ambition/motivation/gusto/whatever-you-wanna-call-it & ran with it! (Well, actually not, but you get my ‘gist). Today, I completely de-cluttered my room. Now, this is actually quite funny because I pride myself on being clean & tidy. When my mom told me recently that I had some stuff accumulating in my room, it left me all hot & bothered. Not me. Not this girl. Anna does not do messy. (We already have one of those in the family ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Here are some highlights from my cleaning. (Yes, cleaning does have its highlights):

A fraction of the school-related stuff just chillin' in my room...NOT OK.

A box for recycling, a bag for “def-throw-that-away” garbage, & a box to give to some younger girls I know (who will love all those Hollister & Abercrombie clothes, I’m sure!)

 

I think I only liked American Girl books a lil' bit...

I came across some fun, blast-from-the-past items (such as the American Girl books I devoured when I was younger; Layne & I seriously lived for that brand wayyy beyond the years considered “normal” ha). Then, I ย found some truly hidden gems…such as this:

 

Horseback ridin’ “personalized” t-shirt, holla!

And this…

 

A pile of collages I made to decorate my school binders...SO COOL.

Oh, and Natalie will find this really entertaining, I’m sure…

 

Oh hey, Marcus Cinema name badge. How I've missed thee!

Basically, this day rocked my socks off. I’m super-weird, I know…but it felt so good to legit (hi, Linnea) clean my room and get it all nice & tidy before Christmas. This is my theory (which I repeated over & over again to Andrew today): Usually when I get gifts throughout the Christmas season, I’m super excited. But then I always dread actually taking them from underneath the Christmas tree and putting them in my room because I have nowhere to put them! Now, though…man, I’ve got space. Space, I tell ya! Empty dresser drawers, “counter” space…it’s pretty awesome. (You know what this means, right? I am willingly accepting gifts because I have SPACE!!) ๐Ÿ™‚

On to the Recipe!

Tonight, I made Chili-Seasoned Potato Wedges…they were incredibly easy to whip-up, and (more importantly) they tasted awesome. Here’s what YOU need to do to be eating these in approximately 45 minutes…

You’ll need:

  • 1 Tablespoon onion soup mix
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon peppa
  • 4 large baking potatoes (I used Yukon gold, but I’m sure others would work just as well)
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil

Doesn't my mama have such purttyyy handwriting?

Here’s what YOU do:

  1. In a large baggie, combine the spices. (Or, you could do as I did and mix ’em in a bowl and then dump ’em into a baggie…either works fine!)

2. Cut each potato into 8 wedges (I cut each in 1/2 the “hot dog” way & then each of those halves in 1/2 again)

3. Place the potatoes in the bag (with the spices) and shake to coat. (Andrew helped me out here)

4. Arrange in a single layer in a greased (I used a sheet of tinfoil over a cookie sheet to minimize clean-up!) 10 x 15 baking pan. Drizzle with oil. Bake, uncovered, at 425 degrees for 12-20 minutes on each side, or until crispy.

About to go in the oven...

 

Mmm….hot & crispayyy.

5. Enjoy. (With ketchup/catsup/katsup, ranch dressing, or with nothin’ at all!)

(My family was battlin’ it out for the thin, crispy ones. Next time, I know to make them all that way. But I put the plate close to me at the beginning of the meal, just to make sure I snagged some of them ๐Ÿ™‚ )

 

Paired with my mom's amazing shredded beef & a side of corn!

See that little itty bit of ranch dressing? I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to dip ’em in ranch or ketchup, but my love for ketchup prevailed…(though the ranch was awesome, too!)

And I ask you: How do you like your potatoes? Baked (with lots of toppings)? In a casserole? In “fry” form? As hashbrowns? In a creamy potato salad (cold or warm a la German-style)? Tell me!

 

 

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Chow.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to (Hot) potato (Hot) potato…

  1. Andrew says:

    Hi Anna,

    My favorite potato style is a baked version, thank you for asking.

  2. Natalie says:

    Oh Anna,
    MARCUS MISSES YOU!

Leave a Reply

