Cut-out cookies (feat. cyclops bear a la Conan)

Drumroll, please. I now present to you the BEST holiday cut-out cookie recipe ever! Since the dough needs to chill 2-3 hours before you can “cut ’em out” with cookie cutters and bake them, my mom whipped up the dough while I was on my run with Natalie in the frigid temps (we totally almost wiped out in the state park, where we were running in the middle of ice-covered streets) . Now that’s teamwork.

Butter Cut-Out Cookies

  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon orange juice, already mixed (yes, you read correctly…orange juice!)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla

Mix all ingredients. Chill 2-3 hours. Then, roll and cut out. Bake at 400 degrees for 6-10 minutes on a greased cookie sheet (make sure these babies don’t burn!…happened Last Christmas). Frost & decorate!

The stockings are off the mantle and ready to go into the oven...

I love cookie-cutters. It’s so fun to decide which ones to use…and which ones NOT to (such as the lips meant for decorating Valentine’s Day cookies that my mom wanted to use for Christmas…perhaps she was thinking about kissing underneath the mistletoe? 🙂 )

Now the fun really begins…time to frost & decorate! (Andrew & Layne were super pumped!)

 

everybody's all lined up!

Layne fuelin' up before the decorating madness begins.

We frosted…

We decorated…

We perused the sprinkle options…

…& we ate (unfortunately, I deleted the photo of my dad chowing down :))

Here are a few of our masterpieces…

 

Oh, and we must not forget Andrew‘s works of art:

Exhibit A.) cyclops bear (one of Conan’s recent episodes featured a cyclops snowman as part of his set’s holiday decor…Andrew wanted to pay “it” tribute)

 

Does my eye...frighten you?

(I am sorry to inform you that cyclops bear only lived about 1 1/2 minutes…my dad, unfortunately, took his life.)

Exhibit B.) Andrew‘s plain & simp bell. Who needs color on Christmas?

simple & beautiful, right? (If you don't agree, just lie and tell Andrew yes)

 

Aww...

As bad as I felt about this broken heart, I may or may not have eaten part of it…

And now, a quick lesson from my dad on the proper way to decorate a cut-out cookie.

Step 1.) Pick up the plate that you have been decorating cookies on.

Step 2.) Tilt & pour.

I mean, this is actually a good way to clean up your decorating plates…and use up all those sprinkles that didn’t land on the cookie!

 

Father-daughter bonding 🙂

Lessons Learned Today:

  • It’s a must to make a cookie fully decorated in red hots from my lovely godmother, Marcia (next year, I promise!)
  • Don’t tell Andrew there is a hiatus in the decorating process or you’ll lose him to the “man cave.”
  • How to properly pronounce hiatus. (Though I’m still not sure.)
  • That It’s a Wonderful Life is a fantastic movie. (And that my sister finds this to be a really emotionally-moving film.)
  • That Scandinavian tradition holds that sprinkling your front stoop with bird seed on Christmas morning will bring you good luck in the coming year (thanks, Marcia – my godmother who is literally the smartest person I know 🙂 )
  • Silent Night, at the end of the Christmas Eve church service, will always, always, always make me tear up.
  • Jesus Christ is born in Bethlehem – and came into this world to save us all…because He loves YOU more than you could possibly imagine. (I didn’t learn this today, but the Christmas Eve church service reminded me again how blessed I am to be a child of God!)

Happy holidays! Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah (a little late), and Happy Festivus to the rest of us. 🙂 May lots of laughter with friends and family and good chow abound!

 

 

 

 

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Chow., Famiglia/Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cut-out cookies (feat. cyclops bear a la Conan)

  1. MareMare says:

    The cookies are delicious AND adorable! Merry Christmas to all!!

Leave a Reply

