It’s the most wonderful day of the year.

Christmas morning is one of my favorite times of the entire year. Though the Santa secret is…well…not a secret anymore, the morning continues to hold an air of mystery. Would there be freshly-fallen snow on the ground when our giddy selves awoke from our slumber? What’s really in all those beautifully wrapped gifts (this year, Santa really liked the color red and coordinated all of his gift wrapping accordingly).

Our family Christmas tree, as always, had character. (My mom has thought about switching to an artificial tree and I’ve given her the pouty/puppy face every time – so far it’s worked!) There’s nothing like the fresh smell of pine needles emanating from the living room into the rest of the house, and I love how each year our tree has its own unique quirks.

Of course there are the annual Christmas morning traditions, and this year it was no different:

Andrew & I organizing the gifts, separating them into piles for each member of the fam…

Dad videotaping the gift-opening (there were many awkward moments that will be hilarious to watch 10 years from now)…

The traditional Christmas morning Piggly Wiggly doughnut (can you say delicious?)…

Of course, the best part of the morning is the gift-opening, where we go around the room, taking turns to savor every moment…

Andrew thinks his new Power Band will give him a lot of balance…

He also loved how Santa got him many apartment-themed gifts this year, including his first set of coasters! (Just look at that reaction 🙂)

Layne got some dishes, too…which she was actually thrilled about! (Invite me over soon for some bagel sandwiches? haha)

As for me, I am in LOVE with my new panini maker. This was the final gift – brought out after everything else had been opened, and I was not expecting it at all! (Though I had tried really hard to drop some hints to my mom: “When I get a panini maker…”) Nice work, Santa! You are too kind 🙂

But we must not forget something truly special. Let’s call this a Christmas miracle…

Saved By the Bell on DVD, baby!

And just because I’m not afraid to embarrass myself, I’ll post a picture of myself dancing Michael Jackson Thriller-style with my new, sparkly black Toms shoes.

But after all the fun & games (and a tasty brunch), we got all spiffied up to go to my aunt’s…where the fun continued into the evening!

We clean up nice, don’t we? 🙂

Hope “Santa” brought you all something you’ve been pining for! (haha, get it, pining?Because you guys were all on the nice list, right? 🙂

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Famiglia/Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s the most wonderful day of the year.

  1. Layne says:

    When I wake up in the morning, and I wake up in the morning, and I wake up in the morning on tiiiiime!

    SBTB date soon?

  2. MareMare says:

    Merry Christmas to All!! xxxooo

  3. Pingback: Christening the Panini Maker | ciaotochow

  4. Pingback: See my nose? Well, it’s NOT growing! | ciaotochow

Leave a Reply

