My Aunt’s Famous Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops

Christmas Day is always celebrated at my aunt Marlene’s house. All of my mom‘s brothers and sisters (and their families) gather together for countless gifts, tons of laughter, and mouth-watering food. (Because calories consumed on holidays don’t count, right? Muahahaha.) It’s really just a random assortment of completely awesome foods:  Chex Mix, Holiday “Bark” (think white-chocolate covered peanuts, m&m’s, and pretzels), Cheese/Crackers/Summer Sausage, Tortilla & Ham roll-ups, barbecue meatballs, little weinies (aka pigs in a blanket), and an endless amount of tantalizing desserts (stay tuned for a kick-booty cookie recipe).

However, there remain a number of items that I simply don’t have a problem staying away from: shrimp & dip, some type of fish (I’ve never had enough interest to ask what type), and raw beef. Marlene had an interesting concoction going:

Raw beef and chex mix sandwiches, anyone? Didn't think so.

We took the customary photos (it’s the one day of year I feel like a celebrity – so much paparazzi I almost can’t handle it)…

What a lovely couple!

The annual "stairs" cousins picture.


We needed some silly ones, obvi.

The texting "fiends" of the night. Yes, my 16-year-old cousin & 50-some-year-old uncle.

Now, for the recipe for Aunt Marlene’s Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops. I think I can speak for all of the cousins when I say this is the cookie we most look forward to each Christmas. A crumbly, sugar-covered cookie drop overflowing with mint chips. And per Layne‘s suggestion, you mustn’t eat the ones covered in white sugar. Please be a little more adventurous and go for the red or green!

Aunt Marlene’s Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup (10-oz. pack) Toll House mint morsels
  • Assorted colors of sugar or white sugar

Mix all ingredients, shape into teaspoonful balls, and roll in colored (or white) sugar. Place on ungreased cookie sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees, until set. Let stand 2 minutes before removing. Pick cookie up, put in mouth, repeat. (Makes 5 1/2 dozen.)

This morning, after a night full of laughter, texting, and more family videos (yes to the retro dancing in the early 90s with wild hair and big glasses), we all gathered one more time to surprise my aunt for her 60th birthday! My Aunt Marlene has hit a new decade, and is looking better than ever (may I add she also is the same Marlene that makes the delicious mint sugar cookie drops featured above?).

The birthday girl & I.

The brunch was great in that it allowed us all – once again – to talk stupid and enjoy each other’s company. Our family has so much to look forward to – one cousin is getting married in May (right after I return from Rome – score!) and another just announced she is expecting…WOO HOO!! (But of course the dessert table didn’t hurt anything, either.)

My mom & I split a fantastically-rich butterfinger/snickers-type dessert with whipped topping, crushed candy bar, and a graham cracker crust.

Tempting, no?

Afterwards, Natalie and her family came over to watch the Packer vs. Giants game – we were delighted they came out with an awesome victory. Woot woot!

Pom-poms, foam fingers, and cheese-heads in tow…

…And a goofy one, just for good measure 🙂

Oh, one more thing that’s very entertaining. Layne & I met Aaron Rodgers about 5 years ago (haha) at a random high school near my grandparent’s. Though this was when Favre was still hogging all the playing time, Aaron did ask us what our plans were for New Year’s (Aaron, if you’re out there…as of now I have no plans 🙂 )

How about you? Do you have any plans for New Year’s? Hope you’re enjoying this holiday season – it comes and goes too fast!

 

 

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Chow., Famiglia/Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Aunt’s Famous Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops

  1. Layne says:

    I can only say one thing in reply to this…

    WOO WOO….WOO WOO…WOO WOO!!!

  2. Natalie says:

    Diddo to what layne said!

  3. Meg says:

    I’m a Redskins fan, so I have NO COMMENT on that game 😉 hahaha just kidding! 🙂 SO happy for you and your fam + friends. What a beautiful celebration. Family members always make the best cookies too 😀

  4. Marlene says:

    Anna: What a wonderful blog. Thanks for sharing your talents with so many. Thanks also for sharing with anyone & everyone who checks it out that I am 60 years old. Love you a lot!!

    • ciaotochow says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Marlene! I miss you so much — but am trying to enjoy every minute here (which, quite honestly, isn’t all that difficult hehe). Hope you’re doing well! xoxo.

  5. Pingback: Galway: L&N, Please Forgive Me. | ciaotochow

Leave a Reply

