A Family Lunch Out

Since my birthday was spent up at my grandparents’ house, my family decided to go out for a birthday lunch today when everyone was healthy (thank goodness it was only a 24-hour bug, Ma!) and we were all back home. Destination?

Bread & Bean!

It was my first time there (my mom and dad recommended it from previous visits), and I absolutely loved every minute of it! Since Layne and I already had dinner plans (stay tuned for my next post on that), we went for a late lunch.

The menu was huggeee – filled with “soup for the soul,” “the big pasta parade,” and the “wide world of wraps.” But OBVI the best part of the menu were the paninis. Duh!

Man - the options! (It took me the longest out of anyone to figure out what I wanted hehe)

The place was decked out for the holidays – loved it!

Isn’t it cute?

Besides Andrew ordering a good ‘ol burger, the whole fam went with paninis. (My dad’s Chicago style ‘nini was delish: filled with Italian beef and a juicy marinara sauce.)

Though the specials were tempting (especially the desserts)…

…Iย went with the Chicken Florentine: one of my favorite ‘sammiches at school (but much better here ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Grilled to perfection, the sandwich featured sliced chicken breast, provolone cheese, garlic-roasted spinach, and a creamy, pesto sauce. Mmm, tasty much?

Can I please take a moment to bow down to these chips? Holyyyyy cow these things were addicting! So crunchy it was unbelievable! I’m not usually a big fan of chips, but these were beyond crazy-good. I especially liked the super-curly ones (those were guaranteed an extra crunch!)

Take note of that ooey, gooey cheese folks!

I am No Doubt (remember that band?) returning to this little eatery! I’m not exaggerating when I say everything on the menu looked delicious (well, unless it included fish/seafood – which I can’t remember if it did). I could literally start from the top of the menu and work my way down, and probably wouldn’t be disappointed with any of the selections. (Though that would take a lot of money, and I’d probably get sick of paninis by then. Though, IS THAT POSSIBLE? With my new panini maker, we shall see!)

Plus, the company during the meal couldn’t be beat ๐Ÿ™‚

Why hello there.

The only thing that could have made this outing more fun?

Well, nothing!

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Famiglia/Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Family Lunch Out

  1. MareMare says:

    HAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPYYYYYYYYYY BIIIIIRRRRTTTTTTTHHDDDAAAYYY!!!! May you be blessed by the Lord with a wonderful year! xxxooo

  2. What a cute little restaurant! Happy belated birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

