Didn’t you see me on TV?

Ok, maybe I wasn’t exactly on TV per se, but I was definitely in the audience. Not to mention I was way back in the left-hand corner (second to last row)…or that the show I was on is really only broadcast in the state of Wisconsin.

I’ll give ya 3 hints:

  1. It involves the coolest NFL team in the nation. (world, really…European “America-style” football just isn’t the same)
  2. The colors of the team are the same as my alma mater (oh…the days of high school)
  3. The host’s pinky is slightly skewed to the side that the show actually hands out foam fingers with the finger off to the side.

Duh, duh, duh…drumroll, please.

Did ya guess?

You were…

WRONG! (Just kidding, I have absolutely no idea.)

It was the Larry McCarren Show – and each week features a member of the GREEN BAY PACKERS (the best NFL team, ever, if you have been wasting your time following hockey or if you have been living underneath a rock).

We were so far away we could justttt make out Larry's head!

The guest of the week was Defensive End Ryan Pickett – he’s a big boy…340 lbs. of burnin’ love! (Though, in real life,Β Layne and I thought he was actually a lot smaller! And I thought the camera adds 10 lbs. πŸ˜‰ )

(Photo courtesy of USA Today)

He’s #79 (check out the photo above)…just stretchin’ it out! But in all seriousness, on the show, he proved himself to be quite a shy, humble guy – and re-affirmed what a bunch of great guys make up the Packers’ team. No drama here, my friends! (Even more so since we let go of the drama queen, Brett Favre. Plus, Rodgers is so much cooler!)

Just in case you forgot:

Woot Woot!! (Honestly, one of the best days of my life – though I may not have known it at the time…)

My dad made sure to bring his Larry McCarren hat, which I proudly wore:

Hi boys!

Stuck in some silly ones for good measure πŸ™‚

I was the ONLY one wearing a Larry McCarren hat and I STILL didn't get to ask a question (if was even my birthday!)

We can be normal.

My Aunt Vicky (my dad’s sister) thought it would be funny to ask him how he keeps his “girlish” figure – that would have been awesome! Then I could follow it up with, “No, really – what do you eat for breakfast on game-day?” I think that’d be so interesting! (And good to put on this blog, may I add?)

For the past 3 years, each time we go to my grandparent’s house around Christmas we make the trek to Green Bay for the show. The other years when we’ve gone, the guests were Jordy Nelson (I’m his Facebook friend, so we’re pretty close πŸ™‚ ) and Nick Barnett. Each year is more fun than the next…though I want so badly to win an autographed picture of the guest they give out after every show (Aunt Vicky won one 2 years ago, and my cousin Matt won this year…a BEARS fan won! How cruel is that?)

Though my star-quality showed quite prominently on the Larry McCarren show (I had to practically push people away from asking for autographs after the show), I’ve been around the block a few times (No, sickos – I’m talking about being on TV!)

Let’s see…

There were the times Natalie, Linnea, & I were on Good Morning America:

Hi, Charlie Gibson.

Yup – kind of my brush with the rich & famous – bahahaha. But one year on GMA the camera did a close-up of us as we geeked out for Caron Kressley, who used to be the host of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. (Love that show!)

I was also on Live with Regis & Kelly with Natalie. There’s pictures somewhere out there in cyberworld (I’ll try to find them soon!), but the guest was Kevin Connolly from Entourage. (We also got to see Regis in some pretty stellar wigs!)

Now…a (quick) funny story about the time we went to GMA and saw Rick Springfield (he sings Jessie’s Girl…the Glee version may be better πŸ™‚ )

We kept touching this guy (no, not inappropriately, Layne) because we thought he was Rick. Little did we know he was just a crew man! We laughed SO HARD after we found that out.

Bahahaha.

And on that note, I ask you: Have YOU ever been on TV? If so, what show were you on (or in the audience of)? If not, what’s your dream show to be on?

I’ve been lucky enough to be in the audience for Regis & Kelly this past summer and Good Morning America a couple of times while visiting my aunt in NYC, but I’d lovveeee to be in the audience of Oprah (time is running out!) and Rachael Ray.

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Famiglia/Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Didn’t you see me on TV?

  1. I was in the audience of some game show (I honestly can’t remember which one now – Price is Right, maybe?) when I was 13. That’s about it as far as my televized self goes. πŸ˜‰ Though, I have been in the newspaper a bit so that’s good at least, right? πŸ™‚

    • ciaotochow says:

      Being in the newspaper is great, too! For good things I hope πŸ™‚ If you were lucky enough to be in the Price is Right audience, I’d be so jealous! (Though I’d be freaking out my name would get called – I feel like I’d be awful at guessing prices of random objects haha.)

  2. Your NJ godmother says:

    Yes, I’m actually commenting on your blog this time and not on your facebook page. What can I say, I’m getting old and I’m a slow learner. I was in the audience for The View and the only “gifts” the audience got that day were a red “The View” bag that none of us will ever use again and Crest White-Strips. I’m keeping my fingers crossed in the hopes that I will get tickets to the Ellen Degeneres show when I go out to LA this summer.

  3. Andrew says:

    Hi Anna,

    I was at a Bucks game that was televised on Fox Sports Net Wisconsin. The crowd was going wild. Also, a Bango bobblehead was given out to all spectators.

Leave a Reply

