Yes, a Superman Snuggie.

Layne and I invited ourselves over were graciously invited to our friends Shannon & Brandon’s house for dinner last night – and boy did the cook outdo himself!

While we admired the countless Christmas decorations and gorgeous tree,

I thought it was fake at first, it's so perfect!

(I mean, look at that color coordination, baby!)

…le chef was slaving away in the kitchen:

His new little toy – a crazy-cool olive-oil “pourer!”

Sweet, no?

Shannon was busy be-dazzling a jacket for her students’ musical production of Beauty & the Beast (no, I am not cast as the Beast in the production).

Oh, you're telling me normal people don't do this?

We had fun playing with some of the props (such as the Beast’s stellar hair)…

Rawr.

I don’t know what was going on here. (You take one picture and you miss everything, I tell ya!)

(Science geek teacher)

On a more normal note, I kind of want everything in Brandon & Shannon’s kitchen. Since Brandon is a super-stellar chef, he has everything from a crazy-cool olive oil “pourer” to a panini maker, to a MORTAL & PESTLE (I mean, who outside of Mexico has one of   those?!) Not only that, but their kitchen is over-flowing with fun plates (check out the “tablescape” below) and great baking dishes, like this Rachael Ray lasagna pan:

While we were trying on the Beast wig, Brandon was busy making the dining table look festive!

Can we please all praise his decorating skills? (A short moment of silence would suffice.)

The fabulous meal (no, Layne & Shannon, I’m not lying) included a gorg (Layne’s word, not mine) salad…

…overflowing with thick slices of mushroom and cucumber, chunks of red pepper, cherry tomatoes, and crunchy croutons. Brandon even offered us numerous salad dressing choices 🙂 Out of the three, I chose the Asian Light. (My first time trying it — will most likely be picking up a bottle on my next trip to the store!)

Accompanying the salad were stuffed shells, brimming with a ricotta/parmesan cheese mixture (punched up with some herbs) and Layne’s specialty Texas toast (directions: open box, place on cookie sheet, place in oven until done, then eat).

The plates were so pretty, I almost didn’t want to cover them up. Hear me, though? Almost. (The food won me over.)

B & S called this an easy meal. Ha! (Layne and I both laughed at that one.)

You best believe I finished every bit of food on my plate. I scraped the extra cheese onto my fork and into my mouth!

After cleaning up the kitchen, you will not believe who made a special appearance at the apartment:

Duh duh duh DUH! It's Superman!

Superman!

Can you even believe they know him?! Connections, people, connections! Okay, you people are smart — it’s actually a Superman snuggie. I didn’t even know they made those!

After a filling, enjoyable meal (the dinner conversation involved family discipline when we were kids and Layne’s rebellious stage), the night came to an end. When I return home in May, Layne & I will most definitely be returning for another fun night with Brandon & Shannon. And next time…we want to bring “surprise” ingredients for Brandon and have him whip up a meal, Iron Chef Style!

Thanks, guys!! You were both such wonderful hosts and we had a blast 🙂

And I ask you: Who’s your favorite superhero? Or…if you could have one superpower, what would it be?

I never really got into the superhero thing, but if I could have one superpower, it would probably be to read people’s minds (though that could turn bad real fast!). Or be invisible…I could just creep wander around the house, street, Wal-Mart parking lot, and YOU wouldn’t know it!


About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes, a Superman Snuggie.

  1. aHAHHA No way! that is too good to be true- i need that superman snuggie!

  2. I never thought I wanted a snuggie… until now.

  3. MareMare says:

    Favorite super-hero? Gotta be my very own “G-Force”!!! None other like him!

  4. Andrew says:

    Vinny Chase as Aquaman

  5. Shannon says:

    I have to say those are some stellar photos my friend! Snuggie Superman is definitely my favorite superhero. I mean he does live at my house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

