2010 in a (wal)Nut Shell

I know, I know. You’re probably sick of hearing about the New Year: the ambitious among us are making New Year’s resolutions (see mine here), and others are simply recovering from a night of way too much fun. Though I’m not a huge lover of  the New Year’s Eve hype, it’s only natural for me to want to pay tribute to the year that was 2010, right? (Oh, and the title of this blog post? Well, I just really like walnuts.)

2010 brought out the “Chicago-explorer” in me. Since it’s my home 9 months out of the year, naturally, I took advantage of seeing $10 Broadway shows…

Observed some pretty stellar art at the Art Institute…

Cheered on whatever baseball team my friends weren’t rooting for at MLB games…

Roomed with one of the most amazing, sweetest girls ever…

Suppressed my excitement as I geeked out meeting Nigel Barker (you can read more about that here)…

Of course, I can’t forget my incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experience interning in Harlem, New York this past summer. I met the big guy (more on that here)…

With my first internship came my first day of wearing a suit…

But amidst all the work, I had to make room for some play. 🙂 I channeled my inner librarian (and loved it!) while touring the New York Public Library…

Picnicked in front of the Belvedere castle in Central Park…

Went to see one of my favorite morning television shows…

Made my first visit to Coney Island and, for lunch, ate a Coney Dog an ice cream cone…

And while there, rode the epic Cyclone roller coaster and attended the annual Mermaid Parade…

When the summer ended, I escaped the big city and headed for a more rural landscape to visit Layne

Here we’re in the corn maze (we survived).

And, since this blog is mainly devoted to health, fitness, and yummy chow, let me mention that I obvi had some incredible food…

Like this tartine with prosciutto, mozzarella di bufala, sundried tomatoes, and basil pesto…

Honestly one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Or indulging in this decadent piece of Red Velvet cake…

…And tried to remember to thank God every day for giving me a life full of this much joy:

Now, for what I’m most looking forward to in 2011:

  • Going completely out of my comfort zone while spending 4 months in a foreign country (and, with that, exploring Europe’s history, art, culture, breathtaking scenery, quaint little cafes, and shopping 🙂 )
  • Finally a wedding on my mom‘s side of the family in May – dance floor, here I come!
  • My cousin’s new baby — we’re expecting his or her arrival in early summer
  • Meeting new people, and staying in touch with those whom I already know…and mean the world to me!
  • Giving my all to ciao to chow to help it grow — I’ve just started and each new post gives me more joy!
  • Developing my culinary skills in the kitchen, and not being afraid to try new things (here I come, brussel sprouts)
  • A family trip to Greece in July — after Google-imaging pictures for days, I think I’m going to have separation anxiety when we leave that country…
  • Growing in my relationship with the Lord — who, through this post, I realize more and more is blessing me in incredible ways.

What are YOU most looking forward to in 2011?

 

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2010 in a (wal)Nut Shell

  1. great photos!!! such a great year for you- and 2011 will be even better 😀

  2. Wow, how fun to intern in New York and meet Bill Clinton! What an eventful year 🙂

  3. Kristina says:

    It looks like you had an INCREDIBLE year!!! Looking forward to see what 2011 has in store for you!
    I’m most looking forward to getting married this year!

    • ciaotochow says:

      That will be so exciting! When’s the wedding? How’s the planning coming? Do you have your bridesmaid dresses picked out? Ahh – I love talking weddings 🙂

  4. MareMare says:

    Bring on ’11!! Shine His light, Anna!

  5. Picky Nicky says:

    Omggg wow, you had an amazing year! I’m super jealous right now :O Not to mention, you’re gorgeous! I don’t have any one thing in particular that I’m looking forward to in 2011, but I’m turning 18 in the summer so I can’t wait to see what adult life is like 😛 LOLOL, even though I’ll most likely never feel like an adult!

Leave a Reply

