Ciao America, Ciao Roma!

Goodbye to America, Hello to Rome! (Did you know ciao can mean both?) Today’s the day I leave the country and head to Rome for 4 entire months. In answer to Layne‘s text earlier this morning, no…I can’t believe it! I think I’m still kind of in disbelief right now; thinking that the next time I lay down to fall asleep will be in a completely different country (more or less halfway around the world) is so weird — but exciting. (Well, that is, unless I fall asleep on the plane at approximately 4:00 pm American-time to try to adjust to the time-change, which I can almost guarantee you will not happen.)

Boy are my mom and I glad we came to spend the night at my cousins’ house…there’s a steady blanket of snow falling right now, and who knows how long that ride would’ve taken all the way from my house to the airport. Now, instead of having to get up super early and freaking out and saying goodbye to Andrew this morning, I got to sleep in and am (somewhat) able to relax.

Last night, my mom and I were responsible for dinner. We thought about cooking up a nice meal (possibly the turkey that we had made this past weekend at Layne’s because it was so amazingly good), but what can we say? Time caught up with us and we were running around like banchies these last couple of days getting stuff together. So, what did we end up doing?

Letting me pick the take-out destination. And do you know what I’ve been craving like no-other for days/weeks?

Jimmy John’s!

Don’t ask me why, but I wanted this really badly. And it didn’t fail to disappoint!

#1 Pepe: ham, provolone cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, mayo. I’m not a huge fan of mayo, but every now and then it hits the spot. And I was going all out. So why the heck not, right?!

Since we were catering to everyone’s palates last night, we decided to make stop #2 as well:

Though I was tempted to get Potbelly’s, I had to stick with JJ’s…though these (hot) sandwiches looked so delish as well!

I owe a huge thanks to our chauffeur (my cousin Mark):

We delivered, baby! The (hungry) troops were grateful when we returned home, subs in tow.

Ahh — off to eat some breakfast and then mentally prepare myself to go to the airport 🙂 Can’t forget my travel-snacks, though! It’s over an 8-hour flight, so I had to bring some goodies in case the airplane meal stanks/is inedible.

2 Gala Apples, a baggie of baby carrots, an Iced Gingerbread Clif bar (Heart seasonal flavors!), a bag full of the new cinnamon cheerios, and an absent from-the-picture peanut butter ‘sammich (that’s for you, Dad!) on whole wheat bread. That should tide me over until I get to the land of pasta, pizza, and everything bread. (Don’t worry, I’ll be eating veggies and fruit over there, too – hehe 🙂 )

Speaking of cinnamon burst cheerios (were we?), have you tried ’em? I tried just a bite yesterday as I was packing them, and actually thought they were pretty tasty!

Ciao, friends! I don’t know when I’ll get a chance to blog next (or how often it’ll be), but just bear with me…this will be a somewhat crazy semester and I want to live every day to its fullest, experiencing every sight, smell, and taste that I can.

And I Ask You: What’s your fave Cheerios flavor? Andrew and I were discussing this just yesterday…because it’s a really important topic, don’t cha know. Mine is Honey Nut – but we’ll see. After my baggie of Cinnamon cheerios, maybe I’ll have a new favorite!

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ciao America, Ciao Roma!

  1. MareMare says:

    Gld bless you as you travel to Roma!!!! You are going to have an amazing experience!! super xxxxxxxxxooooooooooooooooooo

    • ciaotochow says:

      Thanks, mom! I love you soooooo much and can’t wait until you get to experience this incredible city with me 🙂

      • MareMare says:

        I’m waiting —- so is AnD — skype us in the next 3 hours if possible! If not, ok too, call when you can!!! Mucho love-o to you-o!!
        MoMo xxxooo

  2. YAY for airplane snacks- i always bring my stash! and HAVE FUN IN ROME… you will only be a short flight from me- (come to England!)

  3. Have an awesome time!!! If you get the chance and want some life changing gelato, check out Old Bridge- it’s right next to the Vatican. I haven’t been in over a year but I think about it all the time, it’s that good! Be safe and enjoy yourself!

  4. Natalie says:

    ANNNNNNA LOVE! Have an amazing time in Rome and I will be thinking of you and following up on your blog! You’re going to have such a good experience (and you better take a ton of pictures)!

    And my favorite cherrios are yogurt burst.

    • ciaotochow says:

      NATTTSSS! Can you believe I miss you SO much already? Gosh, I’ve only been gone what, like a day? I love you to the moon and back and am so happy you’ll be following along on my journey.

  5. just found your blog and I’m soooo jealous that you’ll be living in Rome for 4 months! I will definitely be checking back, that’s for sure! 🙂

  6. dad says:

    Have a WONDERFUL time in Rome Anna! The snow outside tells me you picked the right time to leave!
    For the record, I like Team Cheerios (sometimes called Multi Grain) to go along with my sammich.

    • ciaotochow says:

      I agree — it’s 60 degrees and sunny here today. Quite a blessing! Are team cheerios and multi grain really the same? I thought they were a tad bit different haha

  7. Andrew says:

    Hey Anna,

    Have fun across the pond!

  8. Yumm! Have a great time. I’ve always wanted to visit Rome!!

  9. Honey nut fo sho girl!!!
    I have been wanting to try Jimmy Johns unwich so so so so bad! gah!

  10. For me, I just like plain ol’ Cheerios. Have fun in Rome! 🙂

  11. Ahhhh so jealous-I know i’ll be living vicariously through you for the next few months!! Enjoy and take lots of mouthwatering pics so I can continue on my pasta craze!

  12. Erika says:

    Enjoy yourself in Rome! I’ve heard of the Cinnamon Burst Cheerios, but haven’t tried them yet. As of right now, my favorite Cheerios flavor is the original. (Boring, I know.) 😉

Leave a Reply

