Pompeii, Groceries, and an Italian-flavored Recap

Well, 2 midterms and a paper down (Voice and the Development of Opera)…

…2 to go (Italian 102 and Italian Masterpieces).

Once Thursday afternoon hits, I’ll be jet-setting to Ireland and Scotland with 9 other girls for a weeklong spring break. Lucky me, right? 🙂 (Don’t worry — I’ll be filling y’all in when I get back!)

Since I stayed in Italy this past weekend, I jumped on the chance to travel with 50 other students and one of our school’s “legendary” teachers to Pompeii, an incredible city that had been buried by the volcanic ash of Mount Vesuvius in AD 79 (now partly uncovered, obvi :))

We toured the city’s ancient theaters…

“Marbled” at the counters of the Pompeii residents’ eating establishments…

Stood with simultaneous fascination and devastation at the molds of the mountain’s horrified residents at the moment of its eruption…

The child in this photo makes me want to cry...

A dog buried in this position. Can you spot its head?

Meandered through the town’s winding, cobblestone streets…

And into buildings older than I can even wrap my mind around…

In modern day language, this would supposedly be called "Steve's Laundry"...what what?!

We meandered through the open, sun-filled Forum… And released our inner gladiators (Why am I always the one getting killed?)…

We took the obligatory “piggy back” photo (you can see the other one here…but don’t worry, there are many that haven’t been published on c2c yet hehe)…

And then a normal one…

We stumbled across some interesting little critters…

And found the site’s signs rather amusing…

I strongly encourage anyone who has the opportunity to visiti Pompeii — it made for a great historical visit amidst stunning scenery of Mount Vesuvius, and I learned a ton, to boot!

Completely switching gears, last week I went grocery shopping and thought I’d share my “garb” with you all. Since the school I’m studying at has a cafeteria (read my experiences with mensa here and here), I really only need to provide my own breakfasts and snacks (and I usually snag a few yogurts and pieces of fruit from the caf, anyways!).

This week’s purchases:

Grocery goodies!

What did I snag for around 15 euro and carry back to my “dorm” room? (in my reusable eco-friendly bag, may I add):

Produce:

  • 5 ‘naners (my all-time favorite fruit)
  • Strawberries
  • 3 yogurts (nocciola/hazelnut flavor, stracchiatella/c. chip flavor, and cherry flavor)
  • 1 Greek yogurt with a pecan & honey combo to mix in (DELISH. Oh how I’ve missed Greek yogurt…)
  • Skim milk

“Pantry” items:

  • Fruit-flavored granola bars
  • Bran Cereal with Added Fruit
  • Bauli Desiderio al Cacao, chocolate-filled croissants

My thoughts?

  •  So far, the croissants are just OK; definitely not warm and fresh, like the ones you can get for around a euro (or less!) at one of the many bakeries in Italy, but they’ll do.
  •  The cereal is really healthy (hello, great ingredient list!), so even though it’s a little too “bran-y” and “blah” tasting for me, I’m trying to enjoy it (I think I’ve picked out all the bananas pieces and raisins to eat first hehe).
  • The strawberries? Gee — I rationed those babies out. Each bite reminded me more and more of summer and eating fresh-off-the-bushes strawberries.
  • The bananas? Need I say more, they were bananas…and I love bananas…(I’m like a monkey)
  • So far I’ve only tried the nocciola and cherry yogurts, but I would buy both again. The nocciola was so decadent, and it reminded me some-what of the nocciola gelato I’ve had here, only lighter and better for me 🙂 And I loved how the cherry had real bits of fruit in it.

Switching gears yet again, since I’ll be out of the country and away from my computer for over a week, I thought I’d keep you occupied with a refresher of my posts since I’ve arrived in Italy. Let’s call it…an Italian-flavored Recap? (This is a food blog, after all :))

Read up, comment, and enjoy!

Oh…and don’t miss me too much 🙂

And I Ask You: How often do you go grocery shopping? Are you a stick-to-the-list type of person or do you buy what looks good to you while you’re at the store?

About ciaotochow

ciao to chow: initially created as a little spot on the web devoted to the "chow" I find while studying abroad in Rome. But really, ciao to chow is about my life: the day-to-day experiences, funny stories, moments of laughter, and the food...that continue to inspire me and make me grateful for each new day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pompeii, Groceries, and an Italian-flavored Recap

  1. Layne says:

    Holla to lame jokes! (“Marbled”) You are truly my sister.

    Also, jealous that you went to Vesuvius! I wish I could take my students there…right now we’re learning about volcanoes, and looking at it in books just isn’t the same ;o)

    • ciaotochow says:

      I thought of you and your students so much while I was there. I knew volcanoes were somewhere in your curriculum — how funny that you’re learning about them right now. I don’t know if you’d want to take them to the brothel at Pompeii though. For some reason I don’t feel like your students would be “mature” enough to handle it in a historical sense (not that I was either hehe).

  2. I’m eyeing those strawberries!!! 🙂 What a fun trip!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  3. MareMare says:

    Great experience and pics again, Anna! And to think, isn’t 2/3rds of Pompei still buried underground??!
    I always shop w/a list, trying to visit the Pig as seldom as possible — I know, it is probably the total opposite of how most of the world gets groceries. If I bump into great looking produce, especially this time of year, I celebrate — and buy! Hugs, xxxooo

  4. Natalie says:

    That’s so amazing that you got to see all of this! It looks like you’re having a great experience. I must tell you, after looking through the blogs I am very jealous of all the beautiful sights you are seeing, but I am most jealous because the food looks delicious! Okay, maybe not those croissants you brought back to your dorm room, but gelato…mmmm. I hope you are having a great time in Ireland and Scotland!! (Do you remember the Disney movie Luck of the Irish?) I’m looking forward to reading your next blog 😉

    Love,
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

